The Anthony G. Hopwood Award for Academic Leadership

From 2019 onwards, the EAA plans to make the Anthony G. Hopwood Award for Academic Leadership annually.

The award will now be made each year at the EAA Annual Congress, subject to there being a worthy winner.


The Award for Academic Leadership

Handed over in 2005 to Professor Anthony G. Hopwood.

The Anthony G. Hopwood Award for Academic Leadership

Handed over:

in 2023 to Professor Salvador Carmona

in 2022 to Professor Kari Lukka and Professor David Cooper

in 2021 to Professor John Christensen and Professor Peter Walton

in 2019 to Professor Willem Buijink

in 2016 to Professor Sten Jönsson and Professor Michael Shields

in 2009 to Professor Stephen A. Zeff

2024 EAA Anthony G. Hopwood Award for Academic Leadership


The Award was established in 2005 and renamed to honour Professor Anthony G. Hopwood, who played a prominent role in the creation and development of the EAA. The previous recipients of the award are Stephen Zeff, Sten Jönsson, Michael Shields, Willem Buijink, John Christensen, Peter Walton, David Cooper, Kari Lukka and Salvador Carmona.

The award is presented each year at the EAA Annual Congress, subject to there being a worthy recipient.

The Anthony G. Hopwood Award is intended to recognise academic excellence, combined with academic leadership and contribution to the EAA.


Nominations are sought from all members of the EAA.

Current members of the EAA Management Committee, Committee Chairs, current EAA journal editors, and members of the Nominating Committee are ineligible to receive the award. Self-nominations are not permitted.


Award Committee

The EAA Management Committee has appointed Juan Manuel Garcia Lara as Chair of the Award Committee, Nieves Carrera and Caren Schelleman as additional members.

The Award Committee will solicit and receive all nominations made for the Anthony G. Hopwood Award for Leadership from EAA members.

The Committee will review the nominations and accompanying material received and will also seek and obtain whatever additional information it requires to reach a decision.


Criteria for the Award

  • Leadership and service to the EAA community, including doctoral consortium participation, service on EAA committees, regular participation in congresses and symposia and editorial responsibilities.


  • Production of a significant body of work, including journal articles, monographs, books or other works published over the candidate’s career, judged to have made a distinct and valuable contribution to the advancement of accounting thought.


Nominations procedure

EAA members are invited to nominate suitable potential recipients of this award by emailing by January 15th 2024.


The nomination package must include each of the following:

  • A nomination letter identifying the nominee and her/his current affiliation and email address
  • A statement summarizing, in terms of the award criteria, why the nominee merits consideration,
  • The nominee’s current curriculum vitae and other appropriate evidence documenting the nominee’s accomplishments.


Those submitting nominations are encouraged to present information gathered from others to support the nomination.

Deadline for nominations: 15th January 2024